My New Website

What Are The New Union Territories Of India?

This is a free website created with

The Union Territories are Special Administrative Areas in the Republic of India. They do not have their own government. These territories are controlled and administered by the Central Government of India. The historic decision of the Narendra Modi government on August 5 reduced the number of states in the country. With this, the number of Union Territories increased from 7 to 9. 

On 5th August the Union Home Minister of India Amit Shah introduced a bill in the Rajya Sabha. According to this bill, it has been proposed to divide the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories. Home Minister Amit Shah introduced a resolution in the Rajya Sabha stating that not all sections of Article 370 of the Constitution will be applicable in Jammu and Kashmir.

Amit Shah introduced the Jammu and Kashmir State Reorganization Bill 2019 in the Rajya Sabha. Home Minister Amit Shah announced the formation of a union territory for Ladakh. There will not be an assembly like Chandigarh here. Shah announced in the Rajya Sabha that Kashmir and Jammu division would be a separate union territory with legislative assembly with assemblies like Delhi and Puducherry. In this way, the number of Union Territories in India has increased from 7 to 9.

According to this decision, now the number of Union Territories has increased from 7 to 9. Two names that have been added to these are Jammu Kashmir and Ladakh. It is known that there are 29 states in India, out of which 9 are now union territories.

Previous Union Territories Of India:

1. National Capital Territory of Delhi

2. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

3. Chandigarh

4. Dadra and Nagar Haveli

5. Daman and Diu

6. Lakshadweep

7. Puducherry

New Union Territories Of India:

After the announcement of the government, the names of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh have been added to the list of union territories. Now both of these will be under the state government. Let us know that people have been waiting for a long time that the government is going to take a big decision about Jammu and Kashmir. While presenting the resolution in Rajya Sabha, the government has declared Kashmir as a Union Territory and has given a decision on 370.

Rights Of Union Territories:

The Union Territory is a sub-national administrative unit of the federal administrative structure of the country. Other states of India which are not centrally governed have their own elected governments. At the same time, the Government of India directly governs the Union Territories. Here the President of India nominates his Government Administrator or Deputy Governor. Delhi has a special status in this matter.

This is a free website created with